Five Tips For a Fabulous Holiday Recital

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…or at least it will be on Saturday morning when all the recitals are done and I can finally hang those stockings by the chimney with care.  I don’t know about you but recital season kinda stresses me out!  

Christmas is such a fun time for students to perform but it can also be crazy.  Over the years I have created a few strategies that make recitals more fun and less chaotic during the holiday season.  Here are five of the most effective tips to make your season bright as your students prepare to share their best with family and friends:

#1– Start Early!!!  Usually my students choose Christmas pieces the first or second week of September right after we get started with the school year.  In my studio, most students arrange their own Christmas piece which tends to take some time. I always tell them that preparation is the best defense against nerves — giving them plenty of time for that tends to lift them up and give them more confidence.  

#2– Don’t Be Afraid of Repetition:  Especially at Christmas students may want to choose pieces that others are already playing.  There is nothing wrong with a few different versions of Jingle Bells. It can actually enhance the recital as long as each version is unique.  Some variation on the same theme will be a great way to highlight the strengths in each performance.

#3– Choose A Theme and Plan Around It:  FInding a theme to focus on in a recital will provide a cohesiveness that your audience will appreciate.  I start thinking about recital themes several months in advance so I can connect all the pieces together. Usually I find a quote that inspires me and work around that.  This year I chose this quote by Gordon B. Hinckley: “Let us get our instruments tightly strung and our melodies sweetly sung. Let us not die with our music still in us.” Using these inspiring words, I used stars with green and gold to pull everything together.  In each recital I include a gift and a short thought to end the night. 

#4– Refreshments Should Be Quick and Easy:  My mother in law gave me the sage advice many years ago that has carried me through many a performance..  “Serve them something they can take on their way out”. I always try to provide refreshments as they add to the excitement and importance of the event.  It seems to serve all of us well if students and families can take a quick treat and be on their way. This year I served cookies from Trader Joes and chocolate milk in bottles.  

#5– Divide and Conquer:  It has been my experience that performers and observers alike have a window of interest in events like these.  As a general rule I try to keep recitals over 30 minutes and under an hour. In order to accomplish this in my studio, it’s necessary to have two recitals.  This serves two important purposes: 1) It keeps recitals to a manageable time and 2) It gives families options for dates at this busy time of year.  As hard as it is for me to give up two weekends in December, it really helps give everyone a chance to perform.  

During the holidays, we all need the help we can get!  Use these suggestions to help enhance your recitals and give your students a great performance experience, and I would love to hear your suggestions in the comments! Helping each other goes a long way in this community of musical instructors we are a part of. 

Abby Camberlango is a piano teacher in the Boise, ID area. Her extensive classical training, coupled with a degree in elementary education, have uniquely equipped her with the tools to help students of all ages and skill levels love music and thrive at playing the piano. In collaboration with her sister, she has created a system of leveled sheet music to help students progress at their own pace.

Published by Measured Melodies

We are two sisters producing leveled piano music designed for beginner-intermediate students. Find our music and other piano teaching tools at https://measuredmelodies.podia.com/.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started